I Want To Art, Show Me How

I saw a post on Tumblr the other day that prompted a genuine double-take, and I’ve been on Tumblr long enough that the day-to-day stuff like Johnlock fanart and pony-slash no longer prompts this reaction. At the time I double-took, then moved on, and I’ve no idea where to find the post again, but it has stuck with me.

The post ran, if I recall correctly, something like this: “Hey, can someone tell me how to draw? I want to make fan-art! And money from commissions would be super handy!”

…. what?

I thought this was an exclusively literary phenomenon. Someone with no clue and a ‘great idea’ bounces up to an established writer and prattles ‘Hi, I’m going to be a great writer, got the best idea ever, tell me the secret to writing popular novels! Or maybe you could write it down for me and we split the take 50/50, what do you say?” To which established writer says ‘….what?’ Because how do you even start with a question like that? ‘Well, get a pencil and some paper and go for it, also HELL NO’?

Anyone can draw, insofar as they can move a drawing implement of some description around on an appropriate flat surface. I draw smiley faces and shapes and flowers for my two-year-old all the time. But I am not under the impression that people will pay me to do so, or even that my stick figures are interesting to anyone but my own kid. (And possibly other kids. Two-year-olds aren’t art critics, mostly.) By the same definition, anyone can write, given said implement and said flat surface, or a keyboard attached to a computer. That doesn’t mean that anyone  is ever, ever going to want to see it.

Writing and drawing are arts, yes. But the ability to do so well is a craft. One that requires honing. Learning. And ungodly amounts of practice. I look at the stuff I was writing ten or fifteen years ago and cringe. The stuff from four or five years ago I still think is pretty good, but it could have been better. And I’ve written a lot in that fifteen years. Between NaNoWriMo, fan-fiction, and attempts at original work, I’d roughly estimate my output at about 1.1 million words.

And most of them were awful! Really, really terrible! Although I ran across a 12 year old poem not long ago which did not actually entirely suck, so that was nice. And I think I’m now reasonably good at writing, though still nowhere near perfect.

So yeah. If you want to know how to draw, or write? Take a pen and paper, or a pencil  and paper, or a tablet and stylus, or a keyboard or whatever. Make 1,000,000 lines or words. Then get started on the next 1,000,000, ’cause that art’s not going to make itself.

 

4 thoughts on “I Want To Art, Show Me How

    • I want to be good at drawing right now, too! But I am aware that that isn’t how it works. Believe me, if you could just be ‘shown how’, I’d be drawing like Fuyumi Soryo right now.

  1. I’ve generally found that writing and drawing improve over time even if you don’t practice, because as time passes you get to do more looking and listening and reading and thinking and e.g. the more looking you do, the better equipped you get to look at your own drawing and say “Hang on, that guy’s shoulder doesn’t look quite right” even if this is the first time you’ve done any drawing for several years. Of course, I draw in pencil and black line, which doesn’t present the same technical challenges as, say, pastels.

    • A lot of practicing does happen in your head, doesn’t it? It’s like when you start thinking about how stories are put together and narrative lines and then one day you sit up in the middle of watching a movie thinking ‘dude, that’s a lot of exposition they’ve sandwiched in between those explosions’.

Leave a Reply

