Calling in semi-conscious

I’ve been sticking to the regimen – up at six every morning, in front of the computer by six-thirty, theoretically ready to kick some textual butt.

In practice… yeah, not so much. In practice I spend at least an hour staring at the screen, trying to remember how to play Candy Crush because it’s just so complicated when I’m half awake, remembering I haven’t had coffee yet and maybe that will help, looking at Tumblr then forgetting I was looking at Tumblr and spending ten minutes asking myself what I was doing, remembering again that I should have some coffee, playing with my phone,  looking at a couple of comic strips, finally getting up to get coffee…

Well. You get the idea.

I hadn’t realized how completely I’d lost my early-morning mojo. I used to be a total early-morning badass, getting up at four or five AM every morning before school, then later having little trouble cruising to my 7 AM start at work. Then I married a night owl, who kept encouraging me to stay up late. Then I birthed a night owl spawnling who at two and a half freaking years old cannot be induced to sleep before ten PM for love, money, or cookies. And now I lurch out of bed at six AM and can suddenly no longer function during mornings.

I’m going to keep at it. It took years for me to lose the knack, it’s going to take more than a few weeks for me to get it back. But I am too sleepy to be interesting today. I’ll try again tomorrow.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Calling in semi-conscious

  1. I hate to say it, but you’re getting older and you can’t expect to be able to drive yourself on as you could before. I used to be able to stay up for three days running when I was in my 20s, and up to my late 40s I only needed about four hours’ sleep a night, but now I need six. If you feel knackered when you get up at 6am, go back to bed for an hour or two.

    • I’m hopeful that it’s just a matter of adjusting the sleep routine – I’m aiming for a minimum of six hours, seven for preference, but adjusting when I get them is taking more work than expected. I’m still finding myself sleeping badly if at all before midnight, and having trouble getting started in the morning. Still, you have a point – I’m not in my frolicsome, lightly rested twenties any more. But I’m going to keep at it for a bit longer.

  2. I used to be a night owl and would write my best stuff between two and four in the morning. Now I get exhausted by one and can’t function after two. Sadly, this didn’t get traded in for early rises and earlier functionality. It feels unfair losing it and gaining nothing!

    • I could pull all-nighters of writing when I was in high-school. Now, in my thirties, I have to resign myself to doing my best with whatever time I can find during the day. Getting old is so *disappointing* in some ways, isn’t it?

      • Those were the days… The worst part is I’m only 20… A small trade-off for all the positives that come with it though.

Leave a Reply

