Rainy Days and Rereading

This post is late, and I apologize. It’s rainy today, and entertaining a hyperactive toddler who’s cooped up in a small house takes a lot of energy. My love for Playschool is being seriously strained, as is my capacity for imitating the dance-moves on Yo Gabba Gabba.

It’s a shame, because it’s a perfect day for curling up on the couch with a cup of tea and a book, preferably an old favourite. Something you know is going to be good, with no nasty surprises and the comfort of revisiting old friends. It’s the kind of day that cries out for a cosy reading-nook and a teapot with a cosy.

I have neither, but I am rereading an old favourite. Having just acquired the latest Harry Dresden, I’ve been warming up by reading over the whole series. I’m reading ‘Ghost Story’ now, and my heartstrings are being extensively wrung. I like it, though. I love the characters, and I’m glad to see them again. Jim Butcher is one of the authors I can read over and over again – his continuity isn’t always perfect, but I love his prose, his snarky dialogue, and his characters.

My ultimate re-read author is Jane Austen. Her elegant prose is a joy to read every time, and I love the characters – even Fanny Price, who many readers loathe. But I’m shy and anxious myself, so that helps me identify with her. There are some I just want to slap – I am looking at you, Miss Crawford – but most of her characters I am delighted to meet again.

Jules Verne is very hit or miss for me. I reread ‘Around The World In Eighty Days’ over and over again, but spent most of ‘Journey to the Center of the Earth’ wanting to smack Harry across the ear until he stopped freaking whining. I couldn’t even finish ‘20,000 Leagues Under The Sea’ because it’s just page after page after page of fish and I just got so bored. How can being kidnapped aboard a giant steampunky submarine be so dull?

Among more modern works, I can always reread Patricia Briggs’ ‘Mercy Thompson’ series – most of Briggs’ work is, for me, eminently rereadable. Tamora Pierce is even more so – her ‘In The Hand of the Goddess‘ was the first fantasy novel I read with a heroine instead of a hero, when I was very young, and I have adored her work ever since. The Tortall series’ and the Circle books I will happily read over and over, even though I’m much older now than most of her protagonists.

What books can you guys read and reread? What favourites do you keep coming back to on rainy days?

3 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Rereading

  1. I have such a hard time rereading. It’s a shame. But what I really enjoy is rereading sections. Picking up the heavy books, the ones I can’t commit to going all the way through again, and opening them at random. It’s like running into an old friend on the street.
    NB (the miss crawford line got a good laugh from me. Thanks for writing!)

Leave a Reply

