Narrative Reality

Things have not been going well for me lately, what with one thing and another. Bills, medication adjustments, and the like.

And some higher power is trying to comfort me with sales.

The seat of the ninja’s pram is giving out? HERE MASSIVE CLOSING DOWN SALE AND WHEN YOU GO THERE’S A NEARLY BRAND NEW REPLACEMENT SEAT FOR YOUR PRAM FOR A QUARTER OF THE USUAL PRICE FOR YOU.

You want a new couch? HERE IT’S LESS THAN HALF PRICE BECAUSE IT HAS A LITTLE HOLE IT JUST WENT OUT ON THE FLOOR IT’S FOR YOU.

New desk? EIGHTY DOLLARS OFF FOR A FEW SCUFF MARKS HAS TO GO TODAY FOR YOU.

Now that I’ve gone into debt to buy a couple of reasonably necessary pieces of furniture (we didn’t have enough seating for everyone in the lounge-room and my desk is developing a serious wobble), though, the sales keep coming.

That pizza you like? Super sale!

Computer games on sale for you.

Five dollars off your next book purchase because we love you.

Shoes!

Clothes!

Household items!

A TV that’s less than twenty years old!

And I have no money left, and yet I keep being offered things I love – and things I need – at vastly reduced prices. Which is kind of helpful, because it means I can buy some things I couldn’t otherwise have, but is also frustrating. It’s sweet that you want to make me happy with my very favourite thing, higher power, and I do love shopping for bargains, but it would be so much better if they were spaced out a little!

….

So I drafted this the other day and left it half-finished because it was kind of personal and boring and I just did the thing about the new desk instead.

So guess what?

A Daiso Japan store opened in Brisbane. Full of all sorts of things that I want, like rice molds and cheap but sturdy plastic containers and useful things like that.

And everything in it is AU$2.80. Prices even the unemployed can afford.

And it’s open just in time for me to go there when I go out for Free Comic Book Day and the Buddha Birthday Celebrations, so I can do it all on one train fare.

If I wrote my life as it stands now, it would be ridiculously unrealistic. Magical Sales coming to comfort the suffering and impoverished? And it may, of course, all be coincidence. But it’s a very nice coincidence, and one that’s making me feel a lot less overwhelmed. It’s as if someone’s coming to my rescue in the nick of time.

2 thoughts on “Narrative Reality

  1. Means the gods are looking after you. This often happens to people who are poor but psychic – you have to live with grinding poverty and keep paddling furiously but Little Presents keep coming along to make sure you don’t actually drown.

Leave a Reply

